Civic Culture

Who Represents You?

Baltimore City is served by officials who are elected at a federal, state, and municipal level. We are represented in the US Senate and the House of Representatives by federal senators and congressmen. Their job is to represent Maryland’s needs at a national level.

We are represented at a statewide level by our governor, attorney general, and comptroller. Their job is to make decisions for the entire state of Maryland, and the entire state gets to vote for them. We also have members of the state legislature, known as state senators and state delegates. They are elected at a local level, and their job is to represent our community’s needs in Annapolis, where the state legislature makes decisions for the entire state.

At a city level, Baltimore has a mayor, a council president, and a comptroller. The entire city gets to vote on these officials, and these officials make decisions for the entire city. We are also represented in the City Council by City Council members. City Council members are elected at a local level, and represent our community’s needs in the City Council, which is the City’s legislative body.

Federal Officials

Senator Ben Cardin

Website: https://www.cardin.senate.gov

Phone Number: (410) 962-4436 

Email: scheduling@cardin.senate.gov

Senator Chris Van Hollen

Website: https://www.vanhollen.senate.gov

Phone Number: (667 212-4610

Email: scheduling@vanhollen.senate.gov

Congressional District 7: Vacant

Website: Vacant

Phone Number: Vacant

Email: Vacant

State Officials

Governor Larry Hogan

Website: https://governor.maryland.gov

Phone Number: 410-974-3901
Email: https://governor.maryland.gov/contact-the-governor

Attorney General Brian Frosh

Website: http://www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov

Phone Number: 410-576-6300

Email: consumer@oag.state.md.us

Comptroller Peter Franchot

Website: franchot.com 

Phone Number: (410) 260-7801

Email: pfranchot@marylandtaxes.gov

State Senator Antonio Hayes, District 40

Website: antoniohayes.com

Phone Number: (410) 841-3656  

Email: antonio.hayes@senate.state.md.us

Delegate Frank Conaway Jr., District 40

Website: https://msa.maryland.gov/msa/mdmanual/06hse/html/msa14616.html

Phone Number: (410) 841-3189

Email: frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

State Senator Charles Sydnor III, District 44

Website: charlessydnor3d.org

Phone Number: (410) 841-3612

Email: charles.sydnor@senate.state.md.us

Delegate Keith Haynes, District 44B

Website: https://msa.maryland.gov/msa/mdmanual/06hse/html/msa14009.html

Phone Number: (410) 841-3801

Email: keith.haynes@house.state.md.us

City Officials

City Councilman Leon Pinkett, District 7

Website: leonpinkett.com

Phone Number: (410) 396-4810

Email: leon.pinkett@baltimorecity.gov

City Councilman John Bullock, District 9

Website: bullockforcouncil.com

Phone Number: 410-396-4815

Email: john.bullock@baltimorecity.gov

City Councilman Eric Costello, District 11

Website: costelloforbaltimore.com

Phone Number: 410-396-4816

Email: eric.costello@baltimorecity.gov